Item added to your cart.

Daffodils & Dirt
Sam Morton
XL Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 14, 2024
  • Daffodil Yellow LP + 7" Vinyl Bundle + Signed Print:

    Pre-order $49.99
    • Daffodils & Dirt Vinyl, 1×LP, Limited Edition Daffodil Yellow Vinyl

    • Cry Without End (feat. Alabaster DePlume) Vinyl, 7”

    • Supplication / Headbouncing Vinyl, 7”

    • Hungerhill Road / Ghosts Are Dancing By The Door Vinyl, 7”

    • Sam Morton - Signed Art Print Signed Print, 12”×12”

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Available: June 14, 2024

  • Vinyl 1×LP, Limited Edition

    Pre-order $26.99

    Daffodil Yellow Vinyl

    Read More
    • + Signed Print
    • + WAV / FLAC


    Estimated release date: June 14, 2024

  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Pre-order $25.99
    Read More
    • + Signed Print


    Estimated release date: June 14, 2024

  • CD

    Pre-order $14.99
    Read More


    Estimated release date: June 14, 2024

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Available: June 14, 2024

Vinyl pre-orders will include an exclusive art print signed by Sam Morton while stocks last.

SAM MORTON, the musical duo comprised of singer, songwriter and acclaimed actor and director Samantha Morton and music producer and co-songwriter Richard Russell, today announce details of their highly-anticipated debut album. Titled Daffodils & Dirt, the album will be released on 14th June via XL Recordings. Over twelve startling tracks, the pair build a deeply personal musical world that feels simultaneously intimate and delicate yet powerful and tough. The part-autobiographical suite of songs see Russell’s spartan soundscapes providing a rich foundation for Morton’s gorgeous, ethereal vocal, aided by a cast of musical collaborators that include Alabaster DePlume, Laura Groves, Jack Peñate and additional vocalist Ali Campbell (on “Broxtowe Girl”).

Despite a lifelong love of, and involvement in, music, SAM MORTON is Samantha Morton’s first ever artist project. The collaboration came about after she appeared on Desert Island Discs in October 2020 and Russell happened to be listening. He was struck not only by her song choices (including a shared love of one song in particular: “I Remember” by Molly Drake) but by the way the music weaved through her lived experiences. The pair connected and corresponded, swapping ideas, sketches and stream-of-consciousnesses. Finally, months later, they met in the studio and engaged in a period of spontaneous, intense and open-ended collaboration, one which proved to be a cathartic musical process for both parties. Daffodils & Dirt, completed during 2023, is the captivating result.

Available digitally and on CD, LP and exclusive indie-store yellow vinyl LP, Daffodils & Dirt is available to pre-order here. The album cover artwork features an archive photograph from acclaimed British-American photographer and visual artist Nick Waplington, who documented life on Nottingham’s Broxtowe Estate at the same time Morton was growing up there in the mid-1980s.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Highwood House Sam Morton 1:29
  2. 2 Hungerhill Road Sam Morton 4:16
  3. 3 Purple Yellow Sam Morton 4:23
  4. 4 The Little White Cloud That Cried Sam Morton 3:42
  5. 5 Kaleidoscope Sam Morton 4:10
  6. 6 Cry Without End SAM MORTON feat. Alabaster DePlume 3:44
  7. 7 Broxtowe Girl SAM MORTON feat. Ali Campbell & Alabaster DePlume 4:10
  8. 8 Let's Walk In The Night SAM MORTON feat. Alabaster DePlume 3:58
  9. 9 Greenstone Sam Morton 3:23
  10. 10 Double Dip Neon Sam Morton 4:28
  11. 11 The Shadow Sam Morton 2:15
  12. 12 Loved By God SAM MORTON feat. Alabaster DePlume 3:16

Sam Morton

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences